Home > On the tour > Teams Announced for The Queens tournament

Teams Announced for The Queens tournament

The nine-woman teams of the Ladies European Tour (LET), the LPGA of Japan (JLPGA), Korean LPGA Tour (KLPGA) and Australian Ladies Professional Golf Inc. (ALPG) in The Queens tournament at Miyoshi Golf and Country Club in Aichi, Japan, on December 4-6 have been announced.

 On the LET team (pictured above, photo by LET), playing Captain Dame Laura Davies will be joined by four members of the 2015 European Solheim Cup Team: Karine Icher, Catriona Matthew, Gwladys Nocera and Melissa Reid, as well as Hannah Burke, Nanna Koerstz Madsen, Emily Kristine Pedersen and Marianne Skarpnord.

 Nocera, Reid, Burke and Pedersen have all won on the Ladies European Tour this season, at the Lalla Meryem Cup, Turkish Airlines Ladies Open, Tipsport Golf Masters and Hero Women’s Indian Open respectively.  

 Davies, a winner of 79 worldwide titles including four Majors, commented: “I’m extremely pleased to have a tremendously talented group of players on our team, with a combined total of 117 tournament victories and 29 Solheim Cup appearances for Europe between us. The Queens presented by Kowa presents a very good opportunity for us all to play in a top level international team match play competition, which will be the first of its kind anywhere in the world and we are determined to give a fantastic performance.”

 Strong names

The LPGA of Japan Team includes Momoko Ueda, who in 2007 became the youngest player in the history of the tour to finish first on the money list. She will be joined by Ayaka Watanabe, Misuzu Narita, Akane Iijima, Shiho Oyama, Erina Hara, Miki Sakai and Ritsuko Ryu.

 The Korean LPGA Team includes the 2015 US Women’s Open champion In Gee Chun, Sung Hyun Park, Jung Min Lee, Yoon Ji Cho, Jin Young Ko, Seon Woo Bae, Min Sun Kim, Sei Young Kim and Bo-Mee Lee.

 The Australian Ladies Professional Golf Team will be led by Rachel Hetherington, a three-time winner on the Ladies European Tour, who is joined by Nikki Campbell, Nikki Garrett, Whitney Hillier, Sarah Kemp, Katherine Kirk, Stephanie Na, Sarah Jane Smith and Lindsey Wright.

The Teams:

The Ladies European Tour Team:

Laura Davies (Captain)

Hannah Burke

Karine Icher

Nanna Madsen

Catriona Matthew

Gwladys Nocera

Emily Kristine Pedersen

Melissa Reid

Marianne Skarpnord


The LPGA of Japan Team:

 Momoko Ueda (Captain)

Erika Kikuchi 

Ayaka Watanabe

Misuzu Narita

Akane Iijima

Shiho Oyama

Erina Hara

Miki Sakai

Ritsuko Ryu


The Korean LPGA Team:

 In Gee Chun

Sung Hyun Park

Jung Min Lee

Yoon Ji Cho

Jin Young Ko

Seon Woo Bae

Min Sun Kim

Sei Young Kim

Bo-Mee Lee


The Australian Ladies Professional Golf Team:

 Rachel Hetherington (Captain)

Nikki Campbell

Nikki Garrett

Whitney Hillier

Sarah Kemp

Katherine Kirk

Stephanie Na

Sarah Jane Smith

Lindsey Wright